2017 Caldecott Medal Award and Honor Books

caldecottOn Jan. 23, 2017, the American Library Association announced the winners of their 2017 Youth Media Awards. Ms. Heather has already blogged about the Newbery winners so I want to share some information about the Caldecott winners. The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year for the most distinguished American picture book for children. With so many quality picture books published each year, I am always amazed that the members of the Caldecott Medal Selection Committee can come to some consensus and award the medal to just one book.

This year’s Caldecott Medal Award goes to..

.radiant-child Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe.

Visit his website to learn more about him and his works or read about his reaction to his win in his interview in Publishers Weekly.

The four Caldecott Honor Books are:
leave-me-aloneLeave Me Alone! illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol
freedom-congo-squareFreedom in Congo Square illustrated by R. Gregory Christie and written by Carole Boston Weatherford
du-iz-takDu Iz Tak? illustrated and written by Carson Ellis
they-all-saw-catThey All Saw a Cat illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel

To learn more about the Caldecott Medal Award, check out the ALSC’s Welcome to the Caldecott Medal Home Page.

Happy Reading!


This entry was posted in Award Books, Library News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s